The United States of America – Land of Lukewarm Christianity

We claim to be a Christian nation. Are we? Most Americans claim they believe in God. Do they live as though they do? Is God first in their lives? First before work? Before money? Before things? What about in your life. If God is not first – the first thanks you give when you awake and the last praise on your lips as you relax into slumber – do you truly believe you are saved?

We are warned in Revelation 3:14-19 that lukewarm Christians are NOT saved:

  • And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God; I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth. Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and [that] the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent. Revelation 3:14-19 (KJV)

Only those whose eyes and heart are full of the Holy Spirit will notice that you can not be a true Christian by going through the motions without making Jesus, God and the Holy Spirit absolutely first in your life. That means before your job, before your concerns over money, before your family, before your possessions, before entertainment – FIRST BEFORE EVERYTHING – WITHOUT EXCEPTION!

I am not alone in asking “Are Christian Churches Lukewarm?” Brother Mike provided this excellent definition of a Lukewarm Christian: “Being lukewarm is a lip service Christian. They go to church, may even give money, but God is not first in their life. They conduct their life as if there is not God.”

Another writer even has a new name for it: Goldilocks Christianity. Here is your challenge as a reader: be able to read all opinions, finding the truth and leaving behind the errors of interpretation. Many otherwise excellent writers and preachers have never questioned the non-Biblical beliefs they’ve been raised in so they mingle those with the Biblical truths.

I believe this is why Jesus said, “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.” Without Jesus we can never know the Truth. Even with him, we must be aware enough to ASK HIM. Few question the beliefs they’ve been taught so many believe untruths even though they have Jesus.

  • To benefit from their insights yet not be misled we must learn to listen and read with Spiritual Discernment.

I will be linking to other sites when they provide great insight even though, in many cases, these same sites will be writing many things that are not Biblical and are not true. Often they are very passionate about their beliefs – both the true and the misleading. Only those who place Jesus first in their lives will know – and only if they question their assumptions.

Remember that “normal” is however you’ve been raised or whatever you’ve been taught by schools, the media, and society. Being widely accepted does NOT make something true. Specific interpretations of the Bible are not necessarily correct simply because they are widely accepted.  Churches and individuals who use the Bible to argue secular beliefs would benefit us all by sticking to what is most important.

And what is that? Why are we here?

God created the physical world to experience, learn, and grow. He created us – with free choice – to do the same. I believe the purpose of life is to realize that the very best use of that free choice is to surrender to God totally and completely.

We can either surrender to God or continue to “play God” – and look at the mess we have made of our lives and environment by thinking we know enough to “play God”.

God is not “in control” of this World. He told us this. He is not waging war, or starving us, or forcing us to submit to the evils all around us. Once we surrender out lives, thoughts, and actions to Him we will be guided in our path. We will be provided for physically. We may be protected or it may be our calling to endure for His sake.

One thing we will have is peace in our hearts and of our minds regardless of what is going on all around us. And most important of all, we will have eternity with Him in a far better world where life is worth living; unlike this end game we are experiencing now.

RELATED POSTS ELSEWHERE:

  • How Not to Be a Lukewarm Christian (Nov. 10, 2008) – (Note that Our Lord inspires many to write on the same subject on the same day. I woke up with this post in my mind yesterday and today and only after typing it found this other post.)
  • Confusion Message (Nov 09, 2008) – While this post has insights – and note the date – was divinely inspired, it focuses on politics while I do not believe Jesus would advise we do that. The few who are true believers are not going to be able to change the world through activism any more than Jesus tried to do so in his time. How much time did he spend trying to change the system? How many doors did he knock on? Where did he spend his time?
  • Guard Your Affection for Christ – Bible Study covering the warnings given to Lukewarm Christians in Revelation and describing deep, enduring love for Jesus
  • Inconsistencies of Mainstream Christianity: Does Doctrine Really Matter – This site has an exceptional depth of information
  • The Child of God

BIBLE REFERENCES:

NOTE: If you see ads or Video Ads in this blog I did NOT put them there. Apparently WordPress.com monetizes free blogs’ content and keeps the money? I do NOT have any control over what ads appear.

Tags:

10 Responses to “The United States of America – Land of Lukewarm Christianity”

  1. Tom Humes Says:

    Nice Site layout for your blog. I am looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tom Humes

  2. edwincrozier Says:

    Thanks for the link.

    I fear for myself that I am not much more than a lukewarm Christian feeling good because I can compare myself to those who are even weaker than I. It is so easy to merely keep the world at arm’s length. But then when the world moves, we move in lockstep right behind it.

    We must take care to always get back to the Word and let it guide our individual lives and our churches. Further, I think we need to quit worrying about “Christian America” and just focus on being the best Christians we can each be today.

    Thanks for these thoughts and the links to others.

  3. walksintruth Says:

    Thank you Tom and Edwin.

    @Edwin: You are so correct that the Word is our guide and our relationship with our Lord is an individual one. We can only know our own path.

  4. Sire Says:

    I know for a fact that I am not the best Christian that I could be, and I pray continuously for guidance and strength.

    I read the Bible on a daily basis, though I may miss a day every now and again, and I often wonder how we have it so much harder than those I am reading about. All through the Old Testament you read constantly of how God was among his people doing great signs for them so that they would believe. Also the amount of times he sent his prophets to them to guide them back to the path.

    Then in the New Testament, we have Jesus walking amongst us guiding all those who would listen.

    And yet all we have to guide us is our faith. We do not have the great miracles of the past to strengthen our resolve to walk the path of righteousness.

    I’m not making any excuses, I just sometimes feel it is harder for has than it was for them. And even when they had God and Jesus guiding them, how many times did they let Them down?

    • walksintruth Says:

      Hello Sire,

      It is not obvious until you really seek for a long time that it is not really much different now than it was back then. Outward appearances have changed; who is controlling the game has not.

      Christ gave us his Holy Spirit to guide us. Great miracles ARE occurring now and many more are directly guided. Listen carefully because I know you are called and His sheep DO hear his voice. For me it is thoughts in my own voice but not my thoughts.

  5. Jim Sanders Says:

    Firstly, I would say this, I understand what you speak, I do not have issue with YOUR relationship with him. However, your writing hints that you’d have issue with those not practicing that same relationship in YOUR way with him. I could be wrong, I am new here, and just found this post because of someone tweeting about it. I came, I read, and now I feel compelled to type, so I am.

    Speaking for me, I do not necessarily say thanks first thing in morning, nor do I say thanks always before bed. However, do I fear I am what you wrote of? On that, I must say I fear nothing. Please allow me to share with you why.

    Thanks is not always in conscious words, which can be empty words as well. I know for self, at any time I feel compelled to do something, I listen, I obey, and I do, just as I write these very words.

    When I have someone lead my way, I’ve learned to notice it, as it normally brings pain and heavy hearts in the process. I give of myself freely in order to help with that pain or heaviness, I ask for nothing, I listen and do as I am told. I fear nothing just because I am not always of mind to say something because I act how he’d have me act each and every time he compels me to do so.

    I do not need words nor do I need fear of their absence. He knows my relationship, he knows my willingness, and he knows my complete surrender. Why should I fear simply because I forgot to say thanks every morning or before bed? I do not, I will not, and no one will convince me otherwise but him.

    Other than that, thanks for sharing.

    • walksintruth Says:

      Welcome Jim,

      I sincerely believe that how each of us chooses to walk with God is a very individual matter. I am simply sharing what works for me because I know that information would have been helpful to me when I was still figuring out how to have a relationship with God.

      I find that very intelligent thinkers like yourself often perceive judgment where none is intended. IMHO, what is in our hearts is what is important – not that we have some particular pattern of giving thanks when or where.

      Few are lucky to have as close a relationship with our Creator as you so they can use ideas on how to find their way to Him. You are already there so you don’t need the ideas any more.

      This message is to those who consider themselves Christians because they go to church or because they tithe or because they say specific prayers but do not listen and certainly do not surrender to His will. That is not you.

      • Jim Sanders Says:

        “This message is to those who consider themselves Christians because they go to church or because they tithe or because they say specific prayers but do not listen and certainly do not surrender to His will.”

        Ahmen to that Walking, and that is why I don’t do church mostly, in my area, there are way to many in my opinion that do just that. I have other ways, and part of that is reading things online like this blog, and sharing.

  6. Media, Journalism, Blogging - Editorial or Truth? | GROWMAP.COM Says:

    […] Those who want to know for sure whether they are truly favored should read about the difference between true faith and lukewarm christianity. […]

  7. Stop Competing – Start Collaborating! | GROWMAP.COM Says:

    […] ask especially those who consider themselves Christians to compare this to what Jesus taught. At some point – and now would be a good time – we […]

Leave a Reply

